CONFESSIONS OF AN ANTIQUATED PAKISTANI

Ok, Ive finally accepted the fact that I don’t need to iron my jeans before wearing it,
I will be made fun of if I wear a dupatta on a T-shirt,
if I wear joggers on shalwar kameez i will be labelled as “paindoo”
When I say Assalam o Alaikum, half of the youngsters i know, will say “hi” in reply and continue their conversation with me in urdu believing that i might not be well-acquainted with the use of angrezi 🙂

But I cannot scratch my past and roots from my being, i cannot be ashamed of the fact that my clothes used to smell of sufi soap instead of DKNY 🙂

Half of my childhood is spent making weird sounds while sipping tea from the saucer and playing khokho with my cousins wearing hawaai chappal instead of cat-walking in jimmy choos in dolmen mall at the age of 13

Every eid, after proudly smashing the gullak to the floor, ive treated my cousins to paanch rupai ki theliwali coke instead of lunch at cafe aylanto

My tongue is used to the taste of the finest pani puris and bun-kababs from burns road and my stomach is completely resistant to the so-called unhygienic kachra 🙂

No, I am not ashamed of it and will never be…

THANK YOU 🙂

Leave a comment